top of page

Fortune Favors the Bold

Bold Self

My Thai teacher, Kru Brood, said to me a few weeks ago, "Don't be a choice, have a choice." These words, though mildly nonsensical, have pushed me well past my transition 'dip' into a period of confidence, satisfaction, and a touch of bold behavior. I tried durian (a disgustingly pungent, sweetly tangy prickly fruit), I defied the monsoons and screamed in soaked delight through the streets of Chinatown, I gave a presentation to 30+ students and parents that resulted in several new clients for Top Scholars, I'm keeping two orchids alive, and I may or may not have given my number to a handsome Scot at the immigration office. Stay tuned for updates, but let's just say that I'm feeling mighty favored these days...

Bold Effort

I am coming to realize that the most satisfying element of my work here is being a part of the introspective process my students are experiencing as they attempt to express their way into the US college system. Few high schoolers are asked to think so deeply about themselves- their values, their goals, their character - as those who apply to American higher education institutions. We demand excellent grades, high test scores, meaningful activities, leadership, community service, and essays that communicate personality, growth, intelligence, and potential. The system is complicated and unfair but there is a profound silver lining to these punishing proceedings. When I see the faces of my students change, their eyes widening and smiles breaking through furrowed brows, I am overwhelmed with hope. They realize the profundity of the changes they've undergone, the worth of their struggles, and their mounting readiness to be bold, raise their voices, and stake their claim in the vast world that awaits them.

Bold Inspiration

Gaggan. Oh, Gaggan. A joyful, wild, and unforgettable culinary experience. I share the same birthday with my dear friend Alina and the two of us decided we had to go big or go home for our Bangkok celebration. I made reservations a month in advance and as Alina and I walked up to the elegantly imposing building in Chit Lom I had to keep from giggling in hysterical excitement as we made our way to a cozy corner on the second floor. Gaggan was voted Asia's Best Restaurant in 2016 and anyone who has seen the Netflix series The Chef's Table will have an inkling as to the kinds of whimsical, explosively flavorful creations coming from the kitchen. The evening truly was a celebration- 18 courses of laughter, surprises, and scrumptious delights. We even saw the chef himself, leading a private "laboratory" evening for a few lucky diners. See the second slideshow below for highlights of our evening, but come to Bangkok for the real thing - I'll make your reservation!

GAGGAN

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page