top of page

Mishaps and Observations

Over nine million people live in Bangkok's urban area and every once in a while I am hit with a private, giddy moment of awe realizing that I too actually live here. I am finding my regular neighborhood haunts, slowly building a social life, getting comfortable with public transportation, and still sweating all day, every day. My hyper-vigilance may be at play, but I am also trying to observe as much as possible, whether it be fashion (shirt dresses galore) or the most popular street food stand (guy grilling small birds of some kind in unmarked alley #4). I realize that while the world flies by ceaselessly, no one seems to be in a hurry. People walk slowly down the street, no matter the time of day, with plastic bags of food or soda or water swinging lazily by their sides. No one rushes to catch the train, no one rushes to serve food, no one honks their horn. Not even the nail salons are in a rush. It is a concerted practice of patience and kreng jai (roughly translated to "awe of heart" or consideration), as I try to embrace this reality.

My inability to speak Thai is isolating and I am eager to start lessons. I know that I could try to speak English, but as someone who prides herself on communication skills, I am often too embarrassed or too frustrated to reach out. Recent communication breakdowns include accidentally purchasing a 50 trip pass on the BTS Sky Train that expires in a month (I will NEVER use it that many times) and failing to give our Top Scholars golf cart driver adequate directions (I walked an extra 20 minutes home that day.... sweaty). A long work in progress, but one I will take on with gusto.

My job continues to be enjoyable and challenging. I am preparing to co-teach our Essay Fundamentals class next week and I am both nervous and thrilled to be in front of an audience -- I mean, students -- again. Notable moments of the past week included a lunch of khao soi (northern curry noodle soup) with fun Thai colleagues and meeting with a student interested in Whitman! The other day I found a list I made, while tucked away in Canadian forests, of all the things I wanted in my new job. The list read as follows: Student time, good office culture, daily variety, awesome boss, professional development opportunities, big picture thinking. Imagine my elation when I realized I have found all of those things at Top Scholars. Photos of my inspiring and inviting workplace are below, as promised.

An update on the goals from my previous post: The first Thai language teacher has been contacted and I found two dance studios that offer everything from street jazz to contemporary to belly dancing. As for the street food - still haven't found the nerve, but I've got my eye on the bird guy.

While all is not quite sabai sabai, not a care in the world, I am keeping my eyes and my heart open. Thank you to those who have expressed such enthusiasm and support during my first few weeks here. My spirits remain high because of your unwavering belief in me and my ability to make this experience a remarkable one.

Please keep the emails and messages coming - I am missing and thinking of my loved ones so often!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page