top of page

Feeling hot, hot, hot

Members of the international education community are trying to move away from the jarring phrase "culture shock," in favor of the softer, less static, "cultural transition," but boy have the past 11 days been a shocker for me! The heat. Holy smokes, the heat. It is all consuming. The humidity weighs heavy with an unrelenting thickness that leaves me baffled as I walk by Thai locals in pants and long sleeves, nary a bead of sweat on their brows. But damn is my skin happy. The sidewalks, if they exist, overflow with food stalls that are both tantalizing and terrifying. But damn am I in a culinary paradise. Motorcycle "taxis" weave through a crushing stream of traffic that flat out ignores pedestrians. But I'm already starting to cross the street like a pro!

I'm so grateful that my parents came to ease me into the first week. They helped me gather move-in essentials, whisked me away on day trips to the Royal Summer Palace and Ayutthaya, the ancient capital, and treated me to meal after marvelous meal. My mom's Thai has stood the test of time. She maneuvered us through this enormous city with ease, wow-ing taxi drivers and baristas with her stellar accent. She amazes me in so many ways, but I was truly in awe watching her in her element.

I am finding much needed quiet and greenery down my soi, or street, and I will move into a studio in these same "Charming Resident" apartments in three weeks time. I look forward to settling in further and making my first major purchase: a toaster oven. In this food-obsessed city, you're hard pressed to find apartments with kitchens! So far my cooking has been limited to scrambling eggs in the morning...once.

While I still feel like I'm drinking out of a firehose at work, I have already met many wonderful students, advised a family on an upcoming US college tour, and led a rousing discussion about the 'dos' and 'don'ts' of the ubiquitous "Why Us?" college essay. My coworkers are lovely and patient, providing no shortage of restaurant and shopping recommendations as I try to get a grasp on this overwhelming metropolis.

My physical workplace at Top Scholars is marvelous. The entrance hall is lined with a literal wall of books, and the green-hooded lamps and dark wood floors lend a distinctly scholarly feel to the space. Great glass windows reveal a tempting pool and luscious backyard palms that flail in the unforgiving monsoon winds. Photos to come!

There's so much more to say, but I'll stop here for now and let you enjoy some photos. Click on any one of them for a slideshow and captions. My goal is to find a dance studio, order noodles off the street, and be well into Thai lessons by the next time I check in!

** A note about communication - still figuring out my phone situation, so please email, Facebook, or Whatssap me to say hey and check in anytime! **

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page