top of page

A Fond Farewell

I cruised through the cold waters of the Puget Sound this past weekend with a dear friend and her wonderful family. I cannot recall a more blissful afternoon in recent memory. I soaked in the rare sunshine and gaped at the crisp, snow-speckled mountains surrounding us. I willed myself to remember the comforting details of the day. The calm of the evergreens, the grit of saltwater, the ease of laughing with a loved one.

I leave for Thailand in less than two days. Back to the country that rooted itself forever into my mother's heart and, years later, into our home. Back to the country where my parents met. Back to the country where those same undaunted parents returned with me, their infant daughter, beginning my lifetime as a third culture kid. Back to the country that held me gently just two years ago as my heart began a long, long road to recovery.

As my to-do list dwindles and I say my farewells, I realize how ready I am to be embarking on this personal and professional journey. It feels cosmically correct, inevitable perhaps, that I am once again leaving a place I love to create a new life halfway across the world. I am giddy with anticipation, but I know I will need to call on those sweet memories of family, friends, and my beloved Pacific Northwest as I adjust to the strikingly different reality that awaits me.

My deep love and gratitude to all the people who have helped me set sail, especially Mom, Dad, and Joey, who are my home, always.

Until next time!

My first time in Bangkok

My first time in Bangkok

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page